With its theme as ‘Disillusioned Citizens – Rebuilding Trust’, the 5th National Session of the European Youth Parliament (EYP)Cyprus was held from the 1-4 September at the Xenion High School in Paralimni.

The session was organised by the European Youth Parliament Cyprus in cooperation with the European Parliament Office in Cyprus. The aim of the session’s theme, ‘Disillusioned Citizens – Rebuilding Trust’, was to provoke discussions surrounding the increasing detachment of European citizens from politics on both a national and European level. On Saturday September 3, session participants discussed topics relating to the session theme in an event called ‘Discussing Europe’, with the title “Disillusioned Citizens – How to prevent an entire generation from losing trust in politics”. Experts in sociological and European policy fields attended this discussion event such as Mrs Yiouli Taki (Senior Researcher at INDEX Cyprus), Mr Pavel Dobrowolski (Ambassador of the Republic of Poland in Cyprus) and Miss Xenia Constantinou (Research Officer of the University of Cyprus and Former Vice-President of the European Youth Forum 2009-2010 ).

The participants of the session had the opportunity to consider the reasons behind the trend of citizens losing their trust in politics; as well as taking into account how trust can be re-established. Thirteen schools from across the island attended the session, along with various participants from other European countries who were assisting the Cypriot officials with the organisation of the session; adding a more European element to the session.

The schools that participated this year’s session were the following:

  • Xenion High School Paralimni
  • American Academy Larnaca
  • Falcon School Nicosia
  • Heritage School Limassol
  • Pascal English School Limassol
  • Pascal English School Larnaca
  • Pascal English School Nicosia
  • The GC School of Careers Nicosia
  • Aradippou Lyceum
  • Apostolou Markou Lyceum
  • Archbishop Makarios III Nicosia Lyceum
  • Agiou Neophytou Lyceum,Pafos

This year’s Session President was Nassos Stylianou (Cyprus) Vice Presidents: Sebastiano Loucas (Italy) Victoria Wilkinson (Norway)

Editors: Lavrentia Christodoulou (Greece) Elina Mantralis (Cyprus) Arriana Yiallourides (Cyprus)

Head Organisers: Rena Kyriakides (Cyprus) Ioanna Yiallourides (Cyprus)

Leave a Reply